Undergraduate Program in Astronomy

The Department of Astronomy at UT Austin is one of the top 10 astronomy research programs in the United States. Our faculty members are among the worldwide leaders in cosmology, galaxies, stars, the interstellar medium, planets, the solar system, and instrumentation. With twenty-four active teaching faculty, twelve research scientists, a number of research associates and postdoctoral fellows, 45 graduate and 90 undergraduate students, the department fosters a stimulating and friendly atmosphere that promotes intellectual development and diversity.

control room control room

Our undergraduate students have the rare opportunity to take classes and conduct research with some of the world's top astronomers. After students complete some core courses, our faculty/research staff offer exciting research opportunities, including working with data taken by NASA's telescopes and with ground-based telescopes all over the world (including our own McDonald Observatory in West Texas), as well as projects in theoretical and computational astrophysics.

We reward excellence in our students through a Freshman Prize for Excellence and numerous merit and research awards for advanced undergraduate students including the Karl G. Henize endowed scholarship, the Board of Visitors scholarship, and the Outstanding Senior Award. We provide financial support for our students to travel to conferences and observatories, including our McDonald Observatory in West Texas, where they benefit from the world's largest telescopes, advanced instrumentation, and dark skies. (Undergraduate Awards)

The Astronomy program helps to prepare undergraduate students for further education in graduate school or/and many career paths spanning education, research, computing, government and journalism. And above all, it gives students the opportunity to join the great intellectual adventures and explorations of astronomy.

Explore Our Universe: Undergraduate Programs at the University of Texas

Brochure [pdf]

If you have questions, please contact us at:

Student Coordinator
Department of Astronomy
University of Texas at Austin
RLM 15.202AA
Austin, TX 78712

phone: (512) 471-3350
fax: (512) 471-6016
hours: M-F: 8-12, 1-5 PM

Undergraduate Advisor
Asst. Prof. Adam Kraus

Assistant Undergraduate Advisor
Dr. Keely Finkelstein

In the News

Sarafina Nance and Rebecca Larson Selected as 2016 Dean's Honored Graduates

sarafina nance
rebecca larson

Astronomy graduating seniors Sarafina Nance and Rebecca Larson will receive special recognition at commencement ceremonies as Dean's Honored Graduates, the highest honor awarded to graduates in the College of Natural Sciences, and will be recognized at a smaller ceremony with faculty mentors and families. Honorees selected by faculty, exhibit excellence in the classroom as well as substantial achievement in scientific research, an independent intellectual pursuit, or exceptional service and leadership to the college and university. more..

CNS Recognizes 18 College Scholars Among Astronomy Undergraduates

On Friday, April 15, the College of Natural Sciences held an Honors Ceremony to recognize its College Scholars. The Astronomy Department had 18 students recognized as a College Scholars and 1 recognized as a Distinguished College Scholar this year. To be a College Scholar, students must have registered as an undergraduate student, completed at least 30 hours in residence, be ranked in the top 20% of their class in each school, and have an in-residence GPA of 3.50. more..

Kayla Leonard Named 2016 Barry M. Goldwater Scholar Honorable Mention

kayla leonard

Undergraduate Kayla Leonard has been named a 2016 Barry M. Goldwater Scholar Honorable Mention. The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program is a highly competitive, national program established by Congress in 1986 to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers by awarding scholarships to outstanding college students who intend to pursue research careers in these fields. Kayla is a senior Astronomy/Physics major and her career goal is to pursue a Ph.D. in Physics. She aspires to conduct research in particle physics and see how it applies to cosmology and to teach at the university level.

...more news

25 April 2016
Astronomy Program · The University of Texas at Austin
prospective student inquiries: studentinfo@astro.as.utexas.edu
site comments: www@astro.as.utexas.edu · web accessibility policy · web privacy policy