directory  
home dept of astronomy mcdonald observatory research hobby-eberly telescope directory university of texas  
home
department of astronomy
mcdonald observatory
research
hobby-eberly telescope
directory
university of texas
 
 
Directory

University of Texas

UT Directory (X500)

Astronomy Program

Staff

Phone Directory

Organizational Charts

Department of Astronomy

Faculty

Graduate Students

Visitors

Department Committees

McDonald Observatory

Research Scientists

Post Docs & Research Associates

Observatory Committees

HET Staff

Employment

Fellowships

Contact Us
Graduate Students


Ahn, Kyungjin

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Paul Shapiro
RLM 16.208
(512) 471-2785
kjahn@astro.as.utexas.edu
Numerical Simulation of Violent Relaxation and the Study of Cylindrical Secondary Infall Process.
Akiyama, Shizuka

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Craig Wheeler
RLM 17.307
(512) 471-8414
shizuka@astro.as.utexas.edu
Jet Induced Aspherical Explosion in a Core Collapse Supernova.
Allers, Katelyn

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Dan Jaffe
RLM 16.312
(512) 471-8275
kallers@astro
Physical Conditions in Photo Dissociation Regions.
Alvarez, Marcelo

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Paul Shapiro
RLM 16.208
(512) 471-2785
marcelo@astro.as.utexas.edu
Radiative Transfer and Simulation of Cosmological Structure Formation.
Baliber, Nairn

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Bill Cochran, Ed Robinson
RLM 16.308
(512) 471-3453
baliber@astro
Planetary Transit Photometry: Using Differential Photometry in the Search for Extrasolar Planets.
Bauer, Amanda

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Gary Hill, Karl Gebhardt
RLM 16.318
(512) 471-3466
amanda@astro.as.utexas.edu
Stellar Mass Accumulation in the Universe
Bean, Jacob

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Fritz Benedict, Chris Sneden
RLM 16.318
(512) 471-3466
bean@astro.as.utexas.edu
An Empirical Analysis of M Dwarf Properties: Multiplicity, Mass, and Composition
Bitner, Martin

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Rob Robinson
RLM 16.304B
(512) 232-5641
mbitner@astro.as.utexas.edu
 
Blum, John

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors:  
blumjr1@astro.as.utexas.edu
 
Chen, Jo Hsin

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors:  
RLM 15.202A
(512) 471-8316
jhchen@astro.as.utexas.edu
 
Cieza-Gonzalez, Lucas

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Paul Harvey
RLM 15.202A
(512) 471-8316
lcieza@astro.as.utexas.edu
Structure and Evolution of Circumstellar Disks
DeGennaro, Steven

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors:  
RLM 15.202A
(512) 471-8316
deg@astro.as.utexas.edu
 
Dunham, Mike

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors:  
RLM 15.202A
(512) 471-8316
mdunham@astro.as.utexas.edu
 
Fernandez, Beth

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Eiichiro Komatsu
RLM 16.212
(512) 471-8443
beth@astro.as.utexas.edu
homepage
Population III Stars and the Near Infrared Background.
Fisher, David

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors:  
RLM 15.202A
(512) 471-8316
dbfisher@astro.as.utexas.edu
Structure and dynamics of galaxies; secular evolution of galaxies; galaxy formation and evolution.
Forestell, Amy

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Thomas Barnes, Karl Gebhardt
RLM 16.310
(512) 232-5641
amydove@astro.as.utexas.edu
Radial Velocities and Metallicities of Extragalactic Cepheids.
Holmes, Shadrian

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: John Lacy
RLM 16.318
(512) 471-3466
sholmes@astro.as.utexas.edu
homepage
Hydrodynamic Modeling of Ultracompact HII Regions
Jeffery, Elizabeth

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Ted von Hippel, Don Winget
RLM 16.304B
(512) 232-5641
ejeffery@astro.as.utexas.edu
Calibrating White Dwarfs as Chronometers Using Open Clusters
Johnson, Jarrett

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors:  
RLM 15.202A
(512) 471-8316
jljohnson@astro.as.utexas.edu
 
Kilic, Mukremin

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Don Winget
RLM 17.304
(512) 471-1495
kilic@astro.as.utexas.edu
Spectroscopic Studies of Cool WDs and WD Cosmochronology.
Kim, Agnes

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Don Winget
RLM 16.220
(512) 471-3447
agnes@astro.as.utexas.edu
 
Knez, Claudia

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Neal Evans
RLM 16.307
(512) 471-7460
claudia@astro.as.utexas.edu
Spectroscopic Studies of Star Formation.
Koda, Jun

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors:  
RLM 16.212
(512) 471-8443
jk_mail@astro.as.utexas.edu
 
Krafka, Frank

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors:  
frankk@astro.as.utexas.edu
 
Lee, Jeong-Eun

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Neal Evans
RLM 17.307
(512) 471-8414
jelee@astro.as.utexas.edu
Chemical and Dynamical Conditions in Star Formation Cores.
Marion, Howie

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Craig Wheeler, Peter Hoeflich
RLM 17.314
(512) 471-4419
hman@astro.as.utexas.edu
homepage
Type la Supernovae: Evolution and Physics from Near Infrared Spectra.
Marsha, Jasmina

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Dan Jaffe
RLM 17.314
(512) 471-4419
jasna@astro.as.utexas.edu
High Resolution Infrared and Submillimeter Spectroscopy of Pre-Main Sequence Stars.
McMahon, Erin

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Pawan Kumar
RLM 16.318
(512) 471-3466
emcmahon@astro.as.utexas.edu
Gamma Ray Burst and Afterglow Analysis
Mullally, Fergal

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Don Winget
RLM 16.220
(512) 471-3447
fergal@astro.as.utexas.edu
homepage
Planet Searches around White Dwarves.
Noyola, Eva

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Karl Gebhardt
RLM 16.212
(512) 471-8443
eva@astro.as.utexas.edu
Dynamical Studies of Globular Clusters and their Connection to Galaxy Formation.
Pan, Liubin

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: John Scalo
RLM 16.216
(512) 471-0445
panlb@astro.as.utexas.edu
Ionization by Gamma-Ray Bursts
Quimby, Robert

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Craig Wheeler
RLM 16.307
(512) 471-7460
quimby@astro.as.utexas.edu
 
Ramirez, Ivan

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: David Lambert, Carlos Allende Prieto
RLM 16.216
(512) 471-0445
ivan@astro.as.utexas.edu
homepage
Oxygen Abundances in the Solar Neighborhood
Salviander, Sarah

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Greg Shields
RLM 16.208
(512) 471-2785
triples@astro.as.utexas.edu
homepage
Homelessness Amongst the Biggest Black Holes
Shen, Rongfeng

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors:  
RLM 15.202A
(512) 471-8316
shenrf@astro.as.utexas.edu
 
Silge, Julia

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Karl Gebhardt
RLM 16.220
(512) 471-3447
dorothea@astro.as.utexas.edu
Sweep the Dust Away: Kinematic Properties of Nearby Galaxies.
Simmerer, Jennifer

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Chris Sneden
RLM 16.310
(512) 471-3462
jensim@astro.as.utexas.edu
The Rise of the S-Process.
Smith, David

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: John Scalo
RLM 17.304
(512) 471-1495
dss@astro.as.utexas.edu
homepage
Astrobiology, evolution in fluctuating environments, astrophysical radiation environments.
Sobeck, Jennifer

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors:  
RLM 16.216
(512) 471-0445
jsobeck@astro.as.utexas.edu
 
Sterling, Nick

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Harriet Dinerstein
RLM 17.312
(512) 471-7418
sterling@astro.as.utexas.edu
Light s-process Elements in Planetary Nebulae.
Tufts, Joe

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Gary Hill, John Kormendy
RLM 17.308
(512) 471-3415
grin@astro
An Unfair Advantage: Cluster Evolution with the World's Fastest J-Band Multi-Object Spectrograph.
Urban, Andrea

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Neal Evans
RLM 16.304B
(512) 232-5641
aurban@astro.as.utexas.edu
The Effects of Massive Star Formation on a Clustered Stellar Environment.
Watanabe, Yuki

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors:  
 
 
yuki@astro.as.utexas.edu
 
Wittenmyer, Robert

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors:  
RLM 16.216
(512) 471-0445
robw@astro.as.utexas.edu
Radial-velocity searches for multi-planet systems, and system parameter modeling of HD 209458b.
Wolf, Marsha

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Gary Hill, Karl Gebhardt
RLM 16.308
(512) 471-3453
mwolf@astro.as.utexas.edu
Galaxy Evolution at Red Shifts of z~1-2.
Wu, Jingwen

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Neal Evans
RLM 16.220
(512) 471-3447
jingwen@astro.as.utexas.edu
High Mass Star Formation: Early Stages and Extragalactic Star Formation.
Yang, Tianyi

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors:  
RLM 15.202A
(512) 471-8316
tianyi@astro.as.utexas.edu
 
Young, Chad

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Neal Evans
RLM 17.312
(512) 471-7418
cyoung@astro.as.utexas.edu
homepage
Observations and Modeling of Galactic and Extragalactic Star Formation.
Young, Kaisa

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: Neal Evans
RLM 16.312
(512) 471-8275
kaisa@astro.as.utexas.edu
homepage
Dust Emission as a Probe of the Physical Conditions of Star Formation.
Zhu, Qinfeng

ADS | astro-ph

Advisors: John Lacy
RLM 16.212
(512) 471-8443
zhuqf@astro.as.utexas.edu
The Structure of Ultra-Compact HII Regions.
 








22 March 2005
Astronomy Program · The University of Texas at Austin · Austin, Texas 78712
prospective student inquiries: studentinfo@astro.as.utexas.edu
site comments: www@www.as.utexas.edu