Graduate Awards

Departmental | University Wide


The awards listed below are given to Astronomy Department Graduate Students. Recipients of the awards are chosen by the Graduate Studies Executive Committee.

Fred T. Goetting, Jr. Memorial Endowed Presidential Fellowship

The Goetting recognizes a student for outstanding service to the Department of Astronomy, usually for excellence in teaching.

Year Recipient
2015 n/a
2014 Erik Brugamyer
2013 Rodolfo Santana
2012 JJ Hermes
2011-2012 Chalence Safranek-Shrader
2010-2011 Irina Marinova & Jeremy Murphy
2009-2010 Guillermo Blanc
2008-2009 Joshua Adams
2007-2008 Sarah Salviander & Shadrian Strong
2006-2007 Amy Forestell
2005-2006 Claudia Knez
2004-2005 Julia Silge & Joe Tufts
2003-2004 Marsha Wolf & Erin McMahon
2002-2003 Nairn Baliber & Joe Tufts
2001-2002 Pamela Gay
2000-2001 Yancy Shirley
1999-2000 Pamela Gay
1998-1999 Marcel Bergman

David Alan Benfield Memorial Fellowship in Astronomy

Recognizes outstanding research by a senior graduate student.

Year Recipient
2015 Marshall Johnson
2014 Michael-Gully Santiago
2013 JJ Hermes
2012 Manos Chatzopoulos
2011-2012 Jeremy Murphy
2010-2011 Guillermo Blanc
2009-2010 Donghui Jeong
2008-2009 David Fisher and Jarrett Johnson
2007-2008 Ivan Ramirez
2006-2007 Lucas Cieza
2005-2006 Nick Sterling
2004-2005 Mukremin Kilic
2003-2004 Jeong-Eun Lee
2002-2003 Anjum Mukadam and David Yong
2001-2002 n/a
2000-2001 Yancy Shirley
1999-2000 Inese Ivans

Frank N. Edmonds, Jr. Memorial Fellowship in Astronomy

Given to a second or third year student who shows strong promise in research.

Year Recipient
2015 Raquel Martinez and Wenbin Lu
2014 Yi-Kuan Chiang
2013 Marshall Johnson
2012-2013 Mimi Song
2011-2012 Paul Robertson
2010-2011 Manos Chatzopoulos
2009-2010 Jeremy Murphy
2008-2009 Donghui Jeong and Irina Marinova
2007-2008 Jarrett Johnson
2006-2007 Ivan Ramirez
2005-2006 Marcelo Alvarez
2004-2005 Lucas Cieza
2003-2004 Nick Sterling
2002-2003 Shizuka Akiyama
2001-2002 n/a
2000-2001 Greg Doppman
1999-2000 Inese Ivans
1998-1999 Juntao Yuan

Board of Visitors Graduate Student Second Year Research Defense Award

Given in recognition for an outstanding Second Year defense of research to date.

Year Recipient
2015 Wenbin Lu
2014 Jeremy Ritter
2012-2013 Yi-Kuan Chiang
2011-2012 Hyunbae Park
2010-2011 Taylor Chonis
2009-2010 Manos Chatsopoulos
Chalence Safranek-Shrader
Erik Brugamyer
2007-2008 Guillermo Blanc and Sean Couch
2006-2007 Donghui Jeong
2005-2006 Mike Dunham
Jarrett Johnson
David Fisher
2004-2005 Ivan Ramirez
2003-2004 Lucas Cieza
2002-2003 David Smith
2001-2002 Jeong-Eun Lee
2000-2001 Jasmina Marsh

University Wide

Livingston Outstanding Graduate Student

For outstanding performance by graduate student academic employees.

Year Recipient
2008 Joshua Adams
2006 Lucas Cieza-Gonzalez
2005 Nicholas Sterling

Outstanding Thesis/Report

Three annual University awards recognize outstanding master's theses/reports. Nominations accepted from Graduate Studies Committee Chairs.

Year Recipient
2015 Hyunbae Park

The Kinetic Sunyaev-Zel'dovich Effect as a Probe of the Physics of Cosmic Reionization: The Effect of Self-Regulated Reionization

2011 Emmanouil Chatzopoulos

Discovery, observations and theory of over luminous supernovae and peculiar transients
[Texas Libraries Digital Repository]

2009 Tim Weinzirl

Outstanding Masters Thesis-Math, Science and Engineering: Constraints on the Origin of Bulges in Hierarchical Models

2005 Jarrett Johnson

Towards the First Galaxies

Outstanding Dissertation

To doctoral students whose dissertations merit recognition for excellence in scholarship, research, and writing. One nomination accepted annually from each graduate program.

Year Recipient
2012 Guillermo Blanc

Studying Star Formation at Low and High Redshift with Integral Field Spectroscopy
[Texas Libraries Digital Repository]

2011 Ian Roederer

From heavy atoms to the outer galaxy : characterizing the chemistry of the Milky Way halo
[Texas Libraries Digital Repository]

2007 Mukremin Kilic

Cool White Dwarfs and the Age of the Galaxy
[Texas Digital Library]

University Continuing Fellowships

80-90 annual awards, UT's largest, are based on: major accomplishments since entering Graduate School, a well-defined program of research, strong personal statement, and letters of recommendation. Financial need is considered. Nominations are accepted from Graduate advisors, and evaulated by faculty review committees.

Year Recipient
2015 Wenbin Lu
2014 Yi-Kuan Chiang
Mimi Song
2013 Kevin Gullikson
Rodolfo Santana
2012 Paul Robertson
Manos Chatzopoulos
2011 Erik Brugamyer
Jeremy Murphy
Chalence Safranek-Shrader
2010 Guillermo Blanc
2009 Guillermo Blanc
Irina Marinova
2008 Donghui Jeong
Jarrett Johnson
Joshua Adams
2007 Michael Dunham
Ivan Ramirez
Jarrett Johnson
2006 Elizabeth Fernandez
Robert Quimby
2005 Lucas Cieza-Gonzalez
Erin McMahon

Harrington Fellowship

In support of gifted and ambitious young scholars at The University of Texas at Austin at a level that would equal or exceed the levels of prestigious longstanding programs at other institutions around the world.

Year Recipient
2014 Raquel Martinez
2010 Joshua Adams
2006 Lucas Cieza-Gonzalez