# **Astronomy Program Committees for 2016-17**

- 1) Committees in sections A, B, and C are set by the Astronomy Department Chair
- 2) Committees in section D are set up by the Astronomy Department Chair, in consultation with the McDonald Observatory Director, as needed.
- 3) Committees in section E are set up by the McDonald Observatory Director, in consultation with the Astronomy Department Chair, as needed.

# A. Astronomy Department Jobs

Astronomy Department Chair: Shardha Jogee

Astronomy Department Associate Chair: Chris Sneden

Computing: Anita Cochran

Colloquium: Caitlin Casey

Graduate Advisor: Harriet Dinerstein Assistant Graduate Advisor: Steven Finkelstein

TA Supervisor: Rob Robinson

GSC Chair: Volker Bromm

First Year Graduate Seminar Leader: Harriet Dinerstein

**Undergraduate Advisor, Undergraduate Honors**: Adam Kraus **Assistant Undergraduate Advisor:** Keely Finkelstein

UGSCom Chair, Class Scheduler: Milos Milosavljevic

Visiting Distinguished Professorships: John Kormendy

Equity and Inclusion Contact: Caitlin Casey

Postdoc Representative: Brandon Bozek

### **Graduate Student Elected Officers**

Department Graduate Student Rep.: Raquel Martinez Graduate Student Assembly (GSA) Rep.: Intae Jung Recruiting Officer: Briana Indahl Computer Officer: Kyle Kaplan Colloquium Lunch Officer: Rebecca Tippens T-Shirt Czar for Graduating Students: Ben Kidder CNS Dean's Council Rep.: Matt Stevans

### **B.** Astronomy Department Committees

### **Evaluation Committee (Also Institutional Assessment for Research)**

Taft Armandroff Karl Gebhardt Pawan Kumar Chris Sneden Craig Wheeler\* (\* denotes member serving 2<sup>nd</sup> and last year of term)

## **Cox Committee**

Steven Finkelstein (Chair) John Lacy Brandon Bozek (Postdoc Rep.) Raquel Martinez (Graduate Student Rep.)

#### **Graduate Studies Executive Committee**

Volker Bromm (GSC Chair & Academic Accommodation Contact) Harriet Dinerstein (Graduate Student Advisor) Steve Finkelstein (Assistant Graduate Advisor) Pawan Kumar Shardha Jogee (*ex officio*, Department Chair) Chris Sneden (*ex officio*, Department Associate Chair)

**Graduate Studies Committee (GSC):** Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty + Research Professors + Research Scientists approved to be part of the GSC by the Dean of Graduate Studies

### **Graduate Admissions Committee**

Craig Wheeler (Chair) Mike Boylan-Kolchin (Recruiter for program) Volker Bromm Adam Kraus John Scalo Raquel Martinez (Graduate Student Rep.) Sandra Catlett (Grad. Coordinator) Harriet Dinerstein (*ex officio*, Graduate Advisor)

Note: Briana Indahl will be the Graduate student contact for graduate recruitment events

### **Undergraduate Studies Executive Committee (UGSEC)**

Milos Milosavljevic, Undergraduate Studies Chair Adam Kraus, Undergraduate Advisor Keely Finkelstein (Assistant Undergraduate Advisor) Caitlin Casey Paul Shapiro Shardha Jogee (*ex officio*, Department Chair)

## Undergraduate Studies Committee (UGSC): Faculty + Keely Finkelstein

## **Teaching Peer Review and Awards Committee:**

Volker Bromm (Chair) Karl Gebhardt Don Winget

# C. College or University Jobs

Faculty Council: Paul Shapiro (externally elected position)

CNS Promotion and Tenure Committee: Chris Sneden

Course and Curriculum: Adam Kraus (Backup: Caitlin Casey)

Accreditation: Keely Finkelstein CNS Teaching Award Nomination Committee, Study Abroad: Don Winget

UTeach: Pawan Kumar

FRA: Karl Gebhardt

# **D. Joint Department/Observatory Committees**

### **Office Space Committee**

Shardha Jogee, Chair Rob Robinson Anita Cochran Kelly Quinney Tracy Tarver Gordon Wesley Raquel Martinez (Graduate Student Rep.)

### **Postdoc Advisory Committee**

Mike Boylan-Kolchin (Chair) Anita Cochran Shardha Jogee (ex officio, Department Chair) Mike Montgomery

#### **Library Committee**

John Kormendy, Chair Bill Cochran Raquel Martinez (Graduate Student Rep.) John Caldwell Lydia Fletcher

### **Computing Advisory Committee**

Anita Cochran (Astro IT manager) Milos Milosavljevic (faculty) Steve Odewahn (Mt. Locke) Mike Endl (Research Scientist) Aaron Rizzuto (Postdoc Rep) Kyle Kaplan (Graduate Student Computer Officer) Shardha Jogee (ex officio, Department Chair)

# **E. McDonald Observatory Committees**

### **McDonald Director Advisory Committee**

Membership to be determined by Taft in Fall 2016

### **Evaluations Committee for McDonald Research Staff**

William Cochran (Chair) Anita Cochran Gary Hill Chris Sneden (faculty liaison) Matthew Shetrone

#### **McDonald TAC**

Niv Drory Mike Endl Kevin Krisciunas Jae-Joon Lee Andrew Mann Matthew Shetrone

#### **HET Users' Committee**

William Cochran Steven Finkelstein Karl Gebhardt Gary Hill, *ex officio* for VIRUS and LRS2 Phillip MacQueen, *ex officio* for HRS Matthew Shetrone, *ex officio* as Lead RA